Different Types of Beams

Beams are generally horizontal structural members which transfer loads horizontally along their length to the supports where the loads are usually resolved into vertical forces. Beams are used for resisting vertical loads, shear forces and bending moments.

Different types of beams can be classified based on the kind of support.

The four different types of beams are:

1.      Simply Supported Beam

2.      Fixed Beam

3.      Cantilever Beam

4.      Continuously Supported Beam

1. Simply Supported Beam
If the ends of a beam are made to rest freely on supports beam, it is called a simple (freely) supported beam.

2. Fixed Beam
If a beam is fixed at both ends it is free called fixed beam. Its another name is a built-in beam.

3. Cantilever Beam
If a beam is fixed at one end while the other end is free, it is called cantilever beam.

4.Continuously Supported Beam
If more than two supports are provided to the beam, it is called continuously supported beam.

Related Posts

Comments are closed.

© 2024 Architectural Engineering - Theme by WPEnjoy · Powered by WordPress